KimberMarie Faircloth
1 min readMar 6, 2024

--

I guess you could say that I am a young whippersnapper and AI also makes me sad. All of the reasons you mention here are practical and real concerns that everyone should have regarding AI. It was interesting discussing the advent of the computer in my Internet Law class my last semester of law school while simultaneously witnessing yet another chapter of the history book being written regarding AI. Personally, AI makes me sad for two main reasons: (1) it emphasizes just how stark the difference is between the companies and the consumers - I've heard SO many people be hesitant about AI and this includes people who are still excited about it. And yet, companies charge ahead somewhat recklessly all because they know that this tech will help them save money for their bottom line. If I wasn't skeptical of companies before (I definitely was), I sure as hell am now. (2) AI - strictly in terms of creativity - takes agency away from the art process. And what's the point of art and creativity without humanity? I'm not saying that I would never buy or watch ANYTHING made by AI but I certainly don't want to walk into a movie theater and only have AI-generated movies to choose from, for example. But that's just me.

--

--

KimberMarie Faircloth

Former Indiana-Jones-Wannabe | Friend of Art & Culture | Future IP and Data Privacy Lawyer |